The Offer Tops 2015 Bendigo Cup Field & Barriers

October 26th, 2015

This Wednesday in country Victoria the Gai Waterhouse-trained former Sydney Cup winner The Offer leads out the Bendigo Cup 2015 field.

The Offer

Group 1 winning Sydney visitor The Offer is top weight for Wednesday’s 2015 Bendigo Cup. Photo: Steve Hart.

Winner of the Group 1 Sydney Cup (3200m) over the two miles at his peak two years ago, the now seven-year-old Monteju gelding The Offer is one of 11 stayers in the mix for this year’s $300,000 Group 3 Jayco Bendigo Cup (2400m).

Due to jump as Bendigo Race 8 at 4:00pm (AEST) on Wednesday, the Bendigo Cup is a lead-up for some gallopers into the Melbourne Cup Carnival features at Flemington including the Group 3 Queen Elizabeth Stakes (2600m) on Emirates Stakes Day, November 7.

Michael Walker, who rode Criterion for his fast second to runaway winner Winx in last Saturday’s Cox Plate, has the ride on Waterhouse’s 59kg Bendigo Cup top weight in barrier seven with The Offer coming off a black-type fourth over 2400m at Randwick on October 17 carrying 61kg.

The next two heaviest-weighted Bendigo Cup hopes this season are the Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes-trained Leebaz (57.5kg) with the outside barrier 11 for jockey Dwayne Dunn to overcome and Kirramosa (54.5kg) drawn better in gate two for hoop Chris Parnham.

Enjoy Best Tote or SP + 20% on the 2015 Bendigo Cup this Wednesday only at!

Zabeel six-year-old Leebaz hasn’t won a race since the Group 2 Hollindale Stakes (1800m) at the Gold Coast in late April and was last seen running third to Stratum Star in a Group 3 over 2000m on Caulfield Cup Day.

It has been two years since Kirramosa last won a race, the John Sargent-trained Alamosa mare winning the Group 1 Crown Oaks (2500m) as a three-year-old back in November of 2013.

She was last seen running 10th when beaten 4.4 lengths by subsequent Cox Plate champion Winx in Sydney’s Group 1 Epsom Handicap (1600m) on October 3.

There are two last start winners in the Bendigo Cup field this season with the Michael Moroney-trained Araldo Junior who won the Benalla Gold Cup (2046m) at the start of the month in just his third start down under and Divan.

One of two Bendigo Cup hopes for Robert Hickmott along with Craig Williams’ mount Wexford Town in gate six who comes off an eighth in the Group 3 The Bart Cummings (2520m) at Flemington on Turnbull Stakes Day, Divan has the rails run in barrier one on Wednesday on the back of a 2000m victory at Pakenham.

Check out the full Bendigo Cup 2015 field, barriers, jockeys and weights below.

Our No. 1 recommended online bookmaker are set to open betting on the mid-week feature shortly and are the only one offering Best Tote or SP + 20% on the Bendigo Cup field this Wednesday!

2015 Bendigo Cup Field, Barriers & Weights

Bendigo Race 8 (4:00pm) – Wednesday, October 28

# Form (Last 10) Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp. Rating
1 960x8x1554 THE OFFER (IRE) Gai Waterhouse Michael Walker 7 59kg 107
2 30210×0993 LEEBAZ (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Dwayne Dunn 11 57.5kg 104
3 x6650x5550 KIRRAMOSA (NZ) John Sargent Chris Parnham 2 54.5kg 102
4 12146×0744 MAYGROVE Murray Baker Matthew Cameron 4 54kg 95
5 321143×975 TOOLEYBUC KID Darren Weir Dean Yendall 8 54kg 95
6 2211303252 KAREEMING Pat Carey Damian Lane 5 54kg 90
7 71311×901 ARALDO JUNIOR (GER) Michael Moroney Craig Newitt 9 54kg 89
8 1150x7x018 WEXFORD TOWN (IRE) Robert Hickmott Craig Williams 6 54kg 87
9 3x10x31 DIVAN (NZ) Robert Hickmott Damien Oliver 1 54kg 70
10 707×519592 SAVANNAH MOON Rod Symons Ms Jackie Beriman (a) 10 54kg 69
11 6947719116 THUNDER SET Vince Jones Darren Gauci 3 54kg 62