The Offer is the 2015 Bendigo Cup Winner

October 28th, 2015

Talented gelding The Offer has completed an ideal lead-up to the Melbourne Cup; producing an impressive final straight sprint to take out the 2015 Bendigo Cup (2400m) from Divan this afternoon.

Jumping from the gates well, in-form jockey Michael Walker allowed The Offer to stride forward and settle in prime position on the heels of early leaders Thunder Set, Wexford Town and Araldo Junior past the post the first time.

Receiving an ideal run in transit over the back straight, Walker peeled the Montjeu gelding off the fence rounding onto the final straight, who immediately responded when asked for an extra effort to comfortably hit the line ahead of Divan and Kirramosa.

Trainer Gai Waterhouse was on hand for The Offer’s impressive win in the 2015 Bendigo Cup and is confident the performance points towards a competitive run in the Melbourne Cup.

“One of the biggest problems in winning the race is you go up in the weights and you get a year or two older, but he did a great job,” Waterhouse said after the race.

“I was sitting with the Chairman of the Bendigo club and he said ‘have you got a horse for the Bendigo Cup?’ and I scratched my head and I said yes I think I might have The Offer! And off we went.”

Walker delivered a perfectly-timed ride on The Offer to win the 2015 Bendigo Cup and was quick to lay all the praise on the class of the talented import in the success.

“Just riding for Mrs. Waterhouse and the owners is a huge privilege for me,”

“He’s probably as big a heart of a horse as I’ve ridden. He had everything chance to stop carrying the weight and catching up to the leaders, but he didn’t.

“Last year he was early favourite for the Melbourne Cup so he’s definitely got the ability.”

Punters who backed The Offer to win the 2015 Bendigo Cup at have been paid out on $8.80 odds via the special Top Tote or SP plus 20% market!

2015 Bendigo Cup Results

Finish No. Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Bar. Weight Starting Price
1 1 THE OFFER (IRE) Gai Waterhouse Michael Walker 7 59kg $7.50
2 9 DIVAN (NZ) Robert Hickmott Damien Oliver 0.75L 1 54kg $7.50
3 3 KIRRAMOSA (NZ) John Sargent Chris Parnham 0.95L 2 54.5kg $5.50EF
4 4 MAYGROVE Murray Baker Matthew Cameron 1.05L 4 54kg $7
5 5 TOOLEYBUC KID Darren Weir Dean Yendall 1.8L 8 54kg $10
6 2 LEEBAZ (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Dwayne Dunn 4.55L 11 57.5kg $5.50EF
7 8 WEXFORD TOWN (IRE) Robert Hickmott Craig Williams 6.8L 6 54kg $11
8 7 ARALDO JUNIOR (GER) Michael Moroney Craig Newitt 9.55L 9 54kg $11
9 10 SAVANNAH MOON Rod Symons Ms Jackie Beriman (a) 9.75L 10 54kg $81
10 6 KAREEMING Pat Carey Damian Lane 10.25L 5 54kg $11
11 11 THUNDER SET Vince Jones Darren Gauci 15.25L 3 54kg $101